Fuel Coupe ‘zine Throttles Back

Screenshot 2016-05-04 at 11.27.35 AM

Kenny Youngblood’s AA/Funny Car-centric e-zine “Fuel Coupe” is on hiatus.

In a letter to FC fans and subscribers, Youngblood said: “Due to personal time constraints, I am unfortunately having to hit the ‘pause’ button on Fuel Coupe Magazine.

“I can’t thank you enough for your support not only of the magazine, but of the sport itself and all the Nostalgia Funny Car racers who so richly deserve it.

“I also can’t put into words how rewarding it’s been to hear from those of you who’ve told us how much you liked the magazine and to know there are so many of you that share our passion for the most popular category in the history of drag racing!”

He concluded: “We may be back in a less demanding format…” -30-




Eagle, Idaho–In a titanic AA/Funny Car final, the two quickest cars of the weekend met up in the NAPA Auto Parts Ignitor Opener final round. Presented by Peterson Chevrolet, Kris Krabill knocked out a .100 reaction and muscled to another superb 5.69-245.27 to stop Dan Horan Jr. (following a .107 reaction), who endured tire shake early in his run, lifting early, finishing at 7.55-122.88. For the “Northwest Hitter” team, it was two-straight Firebird major event titles (including the 2015 Pepsi Nightfire Nationals) coupled with two-straight NHRA Heritage Series wins (both the March Meet and Ignitor) to keep their “perfect” season alive thru the opening pair of races in 2016.

The Firebird track record books took a pounding, too. Competing at the high-altitude facility, Krabill claimed the overall e.t. mark at 5.67 in the opening round, while Dan Horan Jr., set the speed record at 259.76 (old marks 5.76-251 mph by J. Rupert-4/2012). Horan matched the Krabill e.t. record to the thousandths of a second during his semi-final victory. Continue reading

Get Your Top Fuel On At GhostracksUSA

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 3.41.38 PM

Get Your Top Fuel On At GhostracksUSA.com — Now Carrying Signed Copies of Three Cole Coonce Books!

Pomona, CA.—“Coonce is one of my favorite authors,” said Tony Thacker, owner of GhostracksUSA.com. “It’s Hunter S. Thompson in drag and if you want to read the real story — the story behind the press releases and the TV hype — then these books are for you.”

Born in 1961, Coonce an author and literary journalist, started writing for automotive and drag-racing magazines in the 1990s, with a series of “new journalism”-type features published by Super Stock & Drag Illustrated, Full Throttle News, Popular Hot Rodding, Gearhead, and others. Indeed, WIRED magazine senior editor Adam Fisher said of Coonce, “… is a VTEC Tom Wolfe, a literary auto journalist tricked out with nitrous oxide and night vision, writing for The Fast and the Furious generation.”

It’s gonzo journalism a quarter mile at a time.

Continue reading



McFarland, Calif., – Rick Williamson and Kris Krabill scored dramatic wins to cap off four days of drag racing action for the famed Good Vibrations March Meet at Auto Club Famoso Raceway just north of Bakersfield.

Williamson outran the Nostalgia Top Fuel contingent to take home his first March Meet title along with the Mike Sorokin Award in celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the dramatic win by “the Surfers” (Mike Sorokin, Tom Jobe and Bob Skinner).  Krabill recorded the two quickest times in Nostalgia Funny Car history including a record setting 5.552 second run at 261.62 mph in his semifinal win over Dan Horan beating the old record by nearly a tenth of a second.

The Stockton, Calif. racer Williamson qualified sixth in the 8-car field and knocked out Jim Young and reigning series champion Tony Bartone in rounds one and two to earn a date with Adam Sorokin in the Top Fuel final.  Sorokin, Mike’s son, qualified eighth then upset No. 1 qualifier Rick White in round one with a hole shot and Jim Murphy who left early with a red-light foul start in round two.

Williamson saved his best run of the weekend for the final as Sorokin was out first but Williamson powered by with a 5.572 second lap at 245.27 mph to Sorokin who slowed with a 6.709, 170.45.

Krabill, Tacoma, Wash., qualified No. 2 behind Steve Densham and took out No. 3 runner Dan Horan with a blistering 5.552 second, 261.62 mph in the semifinal for the quickest run in history, just missing the mph record as well.  Densham, Menifee, Calif., ran consistent 5.60’s all weekend including his best of the weekend, a 5.640 against Krabill in the final.  But Krabill’s Austin-O’Brien ’78 Firebird entry owned and tuned by Bucky Austin proved too much with a 5.582, 256.94 mph lap in the final to take home the win. Continue reading

Bartone Leads March Meet Friday Fueler Field

After two sessions of Top Fuel Qualifying at the 2016 Good Vibrations March Meet, AA/Fuel Dragster driver Tony Bartone has marched to the front of the field with an early-shutoff 5.66. Adam Sorokin is on the bump for the 8-car eliminator, with one qualifying session left before eliminations begin Sunday morning.

Screenshot 2016-03-04 at 9.46.40 PM.png

Murphy Tests Best Among AA/Fuelers

Good Vibrations March Meet, Auto Club Famoso Raceway, Bakersfield, CA, March 2, 2016—A handful of AA/Fuel Dragsters took turns down the legendary Famoso 1/4-mile yesterday in preparation for this weekend’s Good Vibrations March Meet.

Jim Murphy paced the field with a clean 5.72 @ 231mph in “WW2” fueler. Also noteworthy: 2015 NHRA Heritage Series Top Fuel Champ Tony Bartone debuted his new Murf McKinney chassis and “Nitro-Hemi” owner Steve Harwood made a hit towards procuring his license in Top Fuel. Jimi Young, winner of the 2012 and 2013 March Meets, pounded the pavement in his Chrysler-powered “Young Guns” entry with a 6.01, shutting off at 800′.

“It’s going to haul,” Young said afterward.



Thursday, March 3

3:00 PM – Nitro Testing Session

Friday, March 4

12:30 PM – Funny Car & Top Fuel Qualifying Session 1
3:15 PM – Funny Car & Top Fuel Qualifying Session 2

Saturday, March 5

12:30 PM – Funny Car & Top Fuel Qualifying Session 3
3:15 PM – Funny Car Round 1 Eliminations
4:00 PM – Fuel Altered Qualifying Session 2

Sunday, March 6

11:00 AM – Opening Ceremony
11:45 AM – Nitro Final Eliminations
Run Order: Funny Car, Top Fuel, Fuel Altereds
2:00 PM – Nitro Semi Finals
4:15 PM – Nitro Finals

Top Fuel Wormhole, Volume 2: The Post-Millennial Cole Coonce Dragstrip Reader is Out Now!


With his second collection of musings on all things nitro, drag-strip journalist Cole Coonce pulls no punches in his mind-warping analysis of the greatest sport in the history of western civilization, drag racing.

Volume 2 of Cole Coonce’s “Top Fuel Wormhole” features in-depth conversations with the luminaries of drag racing, including Don Prudhomme, Tom McEwen, Don Garlits, Chris Karamesines, Roland Leong, Dean Skuza, Brent Fanning, Clay Millican and Austin Coil! Only $10.99 at Amazon.com.